Album Review: Nu by Edie

Album Name: Nu
Artist: Edie
Year/Label: 2004 / Independent

Buy the CD
Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

Edie’s previous release, “Shades” was reviewed here at Collected Sounds some time ago, but the review was done by my co-hort Anna Maria Stjärnell so I never actually heard it. After hearing this one I’m sorry I missed it.

I liked this recording from the first listen. Now that I’ve heard it several times I can officially say I love it.

This is very unique stuff. Though there are times she reminds me of other artists (though I can’t place a one at the moment) she isn’t actually similar to any of them. I’m having trouble coming up with words to describe the music, which I think is a good thing. It’s so rare that we hear something that is truly different. Edie is one of a kind.

Her voice is sultry and powerful. The music, beautiful and haunting.

The songs sung in French are beautiful and evoke a David Lynch-ian feel for me and this is a good thing, indeed. This is fabulous, I can’t even articulate what I feel well enough for you to understand. Go listen, you’ll see.

Posted on December 9, 2004

Track Listing
1. Animal
2. La di da
3. Ready and Whole
4. Indifference
5. Bolayasong
6. Ca y est
7. Make up Mine
8. Where the Wind Blows
9. As Good as it Gets
10. This Mess his Bliss
11. Watersong
12. Entendu
13. Crave
14. Touched
15. Bloated

[Edie Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.