Nicole Atkins announces tour

Nicole Atkins is touring (and she’s coming to Minneapolis!)

13 – New York, NY – Bowery Ballroom
14 – Boston, MA – Brighton Music Hall
17 – Montreal, ONT – Divan Orange
18 – Toronto, ONT – Horseshoe Tavern
19 – Detroit, MI – Magic Stick
21 – Pittsburgh, PA – Club Café
22 – Chicago, IL – Beat Kitchen
23 – Madison, WI – High Noon
25 – St. Paul, MN – Turf Club

1 – Portland, OR – Wonder Ballroom
3 – San Francisco, CA – Slim’s
5 – Los Angeles, CA – Bootleg Theatre
6 – San Diego, CA – Soda Bar
8 – Phoenix, AZ – Musical Instrument Museum
12 – Oklahoma City, OK – The Conservatory
13 – 16 – SXSW
17 – Denton, TX – Dan’s Silverleaf
21 – Memphis, TN – Hi-Tone
22 – Nashville, TN – High Watt
23 – Atlanta, GA – Terminal West
25 – Charlotte, NC – Evening Muse
26 – Annapolis, MD – Ram’s Head
27 – Philadelphia, PA – Johnny Brenda’s

Campaigns to check out

I have some friends who are working on Kickstarter campaigns right now and I wnated to make sure you know about them.

Edie Carey: Collected Sounds hosted Edie Carey at our house concerts/Parlor Parties twice. What a blast that was!! Hurry on this one, only 4 days left.
You can help her out [here]

Tin Man: Tin Man’s front guy, Russ Mazion is a friend of mine. He used to live here in Minneapolis and was in a few bands that my friends and I would go see…many moons ago… Tin Man is his newest project.
[Help Tin Man]

My Empire Of Sound

This came across my desk today and since it’s Scandinavian I had a feeling I’d like it. I hope you do too, I think it’s fantastic.

Listen [here]

My Empire Of Sound – The Confession Of The Machines – Preview

The Scandinavian electro-pop duo My Empire Of Sound are very excited to announce the release of their debut album The Confession Of The Machines via Warsaw Recordings on December 16.

Since uploading their first songs online they have created quite a buzz in the blog universe. wrote “Like a Swedish-Danish She & Him…the pair complement one another adroitly, ascending to join this year’s best and brightest as a result.”

Their debut single Early Morning (A New Beginning) was the most popular new track on with over ten thousand streams and it also went to number two in the Scandinavian Chart Base Top 100 and they were voted Best New Scandinavian Act by the same site.

My Empire Of Sound are Swede John Alexander Ericson (Alberta Cross, The Northern Territories, Stjarna) and Sidsel Marie Søholm from Denmark. They are signed to Misty Music Publishing Sweden (ABBAS FORMER PUBLISHER).

The two met in a bar in berlin only a year ago, “Sidsel was one of the performers that night and her voice blew me away” says John Alexander. “We started chatting and decided, on the spot, to start a band together” Two weeks later they started recording in Alex´s studio in Berlin. John Alexander´s background in electronica shines through but Sidsel definitely puts her own stamp on the songs. There´s obviously a very scandinavian feel to the songs, very pop, but at the same time slightly melancholic. “I listen to everything from fellow Swedes Fever Ray and Lykke Li to older things like Propaganda and early Kraftwerk, so I guess it´s all in there somewhere”, says songwriter John Alexander.

The Confession Of The Machines is available on iTunes, Spotify and all other major digital stores on December 16.


Lily Allen’s New Song

I can live without the autotune, but otherwise it’s a fun song, and great to see Lily in action again.

Press Release:
Lily Allen’s New Song “Hard Out Here” Will Be Available on November 19.

The Track Is Lily’s First New Solo Recording For 3 Years.

At last!! Lily Allen has made a brand new solo track – “Hard Out Here” – and it will be available at all digital retailers on November 19.

The track is the first new solo song from Lily since 2010.

“Hard Out Here” was written by Lily with long-time collaborator Greg Kurstin and was produced by Kurstin.

Lily continues to work on her third studio album which will be released next year.

See the video [here]: (Amy’s Note: not really safe for work)

Happy Sunday

Just this…<3

Swedish threesome NONONO, aka lead singer Stina Wappling, and the production duo Astma & Rocwell formed in Stockholm during the spring of 2012, following Stina’s return from Brighton where she had spent three years studying for a degree in psychology – a subject which might have indirectly impacted her songwriting.

The band are currently finishing their debut album, which they describe as “dark and beat-orientated,” for the most part, although the mood will likely improve as the seasons change in Sweden. The aim? “We would really like if someone gets a feeling that they can take from it. We want to make an impact and for people to be touched,” says Michel. “Most importantly, it is going to come from the heart”.