Album Review:…From the Beginning by Lythion

Album Name: …From the Beginning
Artist: Lythion
Year/Label: 2004 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

Lythion is Ilyana Kadushin (voice) James Harrell (guitars, keys, and programming).

The music is melodic dream pop. There is a certain theatrical feel to it, I can imagine really cool videos accompanying the songs.

The songs are well written and have a rich full production value.

Some of the songs, “Blue Spot” and “Fly My Mind”, in particular are a bit on the jazzy side.

“Ripe” has a beautiful haunting minor key piano part. Kadushin’s voice floats over it beautifully.

“Cocky Prick” besides being a great song title, is a really fun song. It starts out a little cabaret-ish then goes into real rock song.

“Champagne” is a great torchy song.

Fans of Hannah Fury, Jill Tracy, Leah Callahan (just because she’s quirky like them) ought to check out Lythion.

Posted on August 25, 2004

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. Peak
2. Traveling
3. Blue Spot
4. Fly My Mind
5. Ripe
6. Cocky Prick
7. Hussy
8. Champagne
9. Meaningless
10. Perilous Mouth
11. Scarlet Hips

[Lythion Official Site]



Rating: 5 Stars
Comment: You should see this duo in person. They put on a fantastic theatrical/multimedia performance event that keeps you swept up in its emotional & musical intensity. Take our words seriously even though we are Ilyana’s parents.
name: Adrianne & Lew Kadushin on Saturday, September 4, 2004

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.