Album Review: 8 by Coppe

Album Name: 8
Artist: Coppe
Year/Label: 2005 / Mango and Sweet Rice

[Buy at Coppe Official Site]

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

Japanese singer Coppe (a nickname, her real name is Yoshimi) puts out her eight album in six years.

Her music’s lively and vaguely avant garde electronica. She’s definitely an original artist.

Opener “I Lick My Brain in Silence” is fast, fun and very odd. Distorted vocals wander across a roaming bassline.

“Me:Moonchild” is a drum’n’bass track with Coppe’s distanced vocal singing sweetly to us amid the chaos.

“Zojiji” is dreamy and meandering, a wistful sounding Coppe mixed in.

“Ryski’s Instrumental Trip” is a slow, blissed-out trip indeed.

Coppe’s an intriguing voice and I’m glad I’ve gotten to hear her.

Posted on August 26, 2005

Track Listing
I Lick My Brain In Silence
2. Shabondama
3. Me: Moon Child
4. Monologue
5. Zojoji
6. Queen Of The Sea
7. You: Universe
8. Ryski’s Instru’mental Trip
9. Ryski’s Hidden Treasure

[Coppe Official Site]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.