Album Review: A Passing Afternoon by Katie Evans

Album Name: A Passing Afternoon
Artist: Katie Evans
Year/Label: 2010 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

Katie Evans has a nice, soothing, almost whispery voice that feels quite comforting. At times she reminds me of Lisa Loeb. She has a nice lilt to her voice that adds some depth. Most noticeable on Curtain Call.

What Love Knows has probably the most radio friendly, single potential though it’s not my favorite one.

I think I like Think About it Now the best.

The general feel of the record is Guitar based, pretty and lo-fi folk. But the songs are nicely written and while they’re nothing ground breaking, it’s a very lovely listen.

Track Listing
1. Now & Then
2. Curtain Call
3. What Love Knows
4. This Hope
5. Seeing Love
6. Trying To Stand
7. Think About It Now (11/20)
8. Maybe Now
9. All Wrong
10. Shades of Blue
11. Dead Ends
12. Your Call

[Katie Evans Official Site]

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.