Album Review: A Whole New Woman by Sherry K

Album Name: A Whole New Woman
Artist: Sherry K
Year/Label: 2001 / Kirby Lu Productions

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

Well, I’ve never reviewed an instrumental CD but there’s got to be a first time for everything so here goes. I can’t fall back on describing the voice, can I?

Well, you know I love piano so I’m much more willing to review this than say an instrumental guitar CD and it really is good. Sherry Klinedinst plays piano and composes very well. The style of these songs ranges from Windham Hill-ish, to Movie Soundtrack to Broadway Musical. There is something in here for everyone.

The first track, “Home” sounded just like George Winston for about the first two and a half minutes when it then shifted into sounding like something from “Chariot’s of Fire”. Interesting to say the least. The piano gets very intricate and the rest of the orchestra comes in with a really full sound complete with crashing cymbals.

“Sisters of the Faith” is a rollicking good time. It sounds like it belongs in a musical. Then she follows it up with “Decisions” which is a gorgeous piece.

Then back into a good time with “The Gospel According to Lu”. I see that her record company is Kirby Lu and there is a logo of a dog dancing. I can only assume this song maybe refers to her dog. It’s cute.

This is a very pretty CD, perfect for putting on when you’re reading, having dinner, or relaxing.

Posted on November 14, 2002

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. Home
2. On the Steps of Ebenezer Lutheran
3. Shadowland
4. The Swing
5. Sisters of the Faith
6. Decisions
7. Female Problems
8. Goodnight Little Girl
9. Six Week Blues
10. Courage
11. The Gospel According to Lu
12. A Whole New Woman

[Sherry K Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.