Album Review: Arrivals by Julia Barry

Album Name: Arrivals
Artist: Julia Barry (aka Julia Rose)
Year/Label: 2003 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Julia Barry’s debut is a nice record. She writes complex songs and plays the piano well.

“Another Man” is a lovely song. Rose’s piano playing is fluid and her voice expressive.

“Lullaby” is sweetly played and still dynamic. Its subdued nature hides strange depths.

“Song for Us trying” is a sad song but it’s not overbearing. Rose has the skill for writing moving songs.

“Tigerlily” is light and playful musically but its lyric is as dark as an old English folk ballad and that’s very dark indeed.

“Here” is haunting and sparse.

“Arrivals” is a wonderful thing. Julia Rose should appeal to fans of Tori Amos and Sarah McLachlan.

Posted on July 25, 2003

Track Listing
1. For the Girls
2. Another Man
3. Lullaby
4. Nightlight
5. Song for Us Trying
6. Petunia
7. Tigerlily
8. Here
9. I Am
10. Hummingbird
11. It’s Not Her Abuse
12. Alleluia
13. Black Swan

[Julia Barry Official Site]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.