Album Review: Asteroid Belt by Velvet Chain

Album Name: Asteroid Belt
Artist: Velvet Chain
Year/Label: 2004 / Freak Records

[Buy at Velvet Chain]

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

It’s been a while since the last Velvet Chain album. Their new record is well worth the wait. Singer Erika Amato has an amazing voice and the songs are great.

“Sea of Tranquility” is jazzy and groovy. Amato’s stellar voice reaches new heights as the band creates an irresistible vibe.

“Green Eyed Lady” is a cover of a song by the obscure band Sugarloaf. Heavy guitar riffs contrasts with Amato’s cool voice.

The exotic-sounding “Spectrum Analyzer” is just as good.

“I Spy” was inspired by the film “La Femme Nikita” and its got the right air of spy film melodrama about it.Amato’s siren voice wraps itself around the supple melody beautifully. They should try and get it on the TV show “Alias”.

Elsewhere they cover Art of Noise and Serge Gainsbourg to great effect.

I could go on. “Asteroid Belt” is that good. Now go get a copy for yourself.

Posted on March 13, 2004

Track Listing
1. King of the Moon
2. Floating Away
3. Sea of Tranquility
4. Green Eyed Lady
5. Spectrum Analyzer
6. Limo
7. Other Side
8. Cash
9. I Spy
10. Beat Box
11. Everyone Loves
12. The Art of Noise
13. You Remind Me
14. Jazz Crashing
15. General Eclectic
16. Meantime
17. L’Anamour

[Velvet Chain Official Site]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.