Album Review: Before Morning Arrived by Vera Deirdre

Album Name: Before Morning Arrived
Artist: Vera Deirdre
Year/Label: 2005 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

I reviewed Vera Deirdre’s debut album and loved it. The new album is Americana of the darkest kind.

“The Attic” sees singer/guitarist Rebecca Schoenecker doing her spooky lead vocal while Dan Fischer plays an equally haunted clarinet.

“Fawn” is a weird mix of Cat Power’s hushed folk and PJ Harvey’s seductive side. The cover of Sam the Sham and the Pharoahs

“Little red Riding Hood” perks things up a bit and shows a more playful side to the band. It’s slow and catchy like a Tom Waits tune.

“I Can’t Drive” becomes a spooked version of Cowboy Junkies.

Vera Deirdre is not about having fun, but their dark attitude is liberating in this pop tart age. If you’re of the right disposition this album will bring you joy.

Posted on July 5, 2005

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. Day Is Night
2. The Attic
3. Fawn
4. Awake
5. Little Red Riding Hood
6. The Mistake
7. Dead Bird
8. I Can’t Drive
9. Bob the Gay Cousin
10. Nosferatu
11. The Saddest Days End So Quickly
12. Bromide
13. Elan Vital
14. The Time
15. I’ll Never Come Back

[Vera Deirdre Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.