Album Review: Between Miss Scylla and a Hard Place by Gabriela Kulka

Album Name: Between Miss Scylla and a Hard Place
Artist: Gabriela Kulka
Year/Label: 2003 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Gabriela Kulka’s first proper record is very special. Her vocal stylings and piano playing will remind some of Tori Amos and Kate Bush (both have been influences to Kulka). She has her own clearly developed style as well.

“Some Things are Better” is whimsical in style, but still cuts deep. Kulka’s voice is very expressive here.

“Shoes” is darkly seductive. Kulka plays the piano beautifully. The song is lifted by an inspired trumpet part by Marcin Kobus.

The theatrical tone of “Jealousy” is very appealing.

“Miss Scylla and a Hard Place” is haunting. Kulka sings the lyrics in her best soprano voice.

“Knock Knock” has a great jazzy piano and a muffled vocal.

The lullaby-like “Jellybean” works very well. Gabriela’s vocal harmonies are astonishing.

It’s an inventive and bold record she has made.

Posted on August 7, 2003

Track Listing
1. [data Track – Enhanced Cd]
2. Coup D’etat
3. (intro)
4. Some Things Are Better
5. Shoes
6. Jealousy
7. (tonight I Will Doubt)
8. Tonight I Will
9. Miss Scylla and a Hard Place
10. (the Great Sellout)
11. She
12. (you Sound Like a Broken Record)
13. Knock, Knock
14. Jellybean Lullaby
15. (outro and the Jolly Funeral Calliope)
16. Bodybags

[Gabriela Kulka Official Site]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.