Album Review: Big Words and Power Chords by Mighty Fairly


Album Name: Big Words and Power Chords
Artist: Mighty Fairly
Year/Label: 2009 / Independent

[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

Mighty Fairly is Mischa Suemnig, Kellie Nitz, Jonathan Earl, Joseph Papke and they’ve put out a great album of melodic pop-rock. Mostly male vocals with female co-vocals. It contains fun, clever lyrics and jumpy melodies.

Closer to End is the ideal sing along song. It’s one of those ones where once you know the lyrics it’s impossible not to sing along with them. Plus it’s got some fun clappy rhythms.

Alaska begins a capella and it’s unexpected and cool. I bet this one is especially dynamic live.

Save your Love has some nice harmonies allowing Kellie Nitz’ voice to shine as well. Sounds a little Decemberists-like. Which is a good thing.

I was listening to this album for a couple of months before I realized they’re local to Minneapolis. This is good news, it means I have some chances to see them live!

Track Listing
1. Falling To Pieces
2. Closer To End
3. Live For Love
4. Simple Minded
5. Overachiever
6. Alaska
7. Save Your Love
8. Close
9. Noel
10. Shadow
11. Left You A Ruin

[Mighty Fairly Official Site]

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.