Album Review: Boat with No Oars by Mary Bue

Album Name: Boat with No Oars
Artist: Mary Bue
Year/Label: 2007 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

I am so familiar with artists from all over the country…all over the world actually. I have reviewed folks in New Zealand, Spain, Israel, and lots of places in between. But with the exception of a couple of wonderful artists (whom I also consider friends) I am not very familiar with what is happening here in Minneapolis, MN. I am always humbled by how little I know about the music right in my own backyard.

So when I opened up the package from Mary Bue and it says she is literally, like, 20 minutes from my house I nearly fell over. Then to also realize this is her 3rd release…well I felt like an idiot. I can feel a little better knowing that she just recently moved here.

Mary Bue couldn’t be more up my musical alley. She’s been compared to Sarah McLachlan, Ben Folds, Neko Case, Carole King and many of my other musical idols.

I can’t say I would necessarily compare her to any of them, personally. But she’s fabulous in her own right.

Her voice is perfect; it’s sweet and strong and has just the right amount of lilt and charm.

The songs are so well written they seem like old friends upon the first listen.

I am loving this.

Posted on December 17, 2007

Track Listing
Listen to track samples while you read
1 Ain’t Nobody
2 No Turning Back
3 Salt and Pepper
4 Gorgeous
5 West Is the West
6 My Sweet Warrior
7 The City Trees
8 Baby I Love You
9 Chocolate and Hawaii
10 Petunias
11 The Retina
12 Suitcase Full of Feathers
13 Waltz
14 Big Mistake
15 Cypress Tree

[Mary Bue Official Site]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.