Album Review: Body and Soul by Kristy Jackson

Album Name: Body and Soul
Artist: Kristy Jackson
Year/Label: 2003 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

People started noticing Kristy Jackson when her song, “Little Did She Know (She’s kissed a Hero)” was released and got vast radio play after the September 11th disaster.

Through she’s written songs for others in her many years in the business this is her first solo project where she is performing her material.

These are the types of songs that you hear on the radio…usually sung by someone like Reba, Shania, Whitney or the many other women who sing other people’s songs. What is cool about this is that the woman performing them IS the woman who wrote them. That is so much more impressive in my book.

The music is catchy, pop-y with a little “new country” thrown in. Kristy has a solid, pleasing, clear pop-singer voice. She can sound jazzy as well as country and pop. The songwriting is good, mainstream pop. She could be writing songs for American Idols to sing.

The stand out song for me is “Beige”. It has a more bluesy original sound with some dissonant piano chords and very clever lyrics.

I also like the first track “With all of My Broken Heart”. It’s a beautiful sad song about falling out of love.

Then there’s the fabulous hidden track and that’s all I’m gonna tell you about that.

If you like mainstream adult contemporary artists such as Shania Twain, Shawn Colvin, Jewel, etc then Kristy Jackson’s music is right up your alley.

Posted on February 8, 2003

Track Listing
1. With all of My Broken Heart
2. First Time
3. You Believe
4. It’s Gonna Be Me
5. Not a Day Goes By
6. Solitary Castles
7. I Want What She’s Got
8. Room 533
9. If Someone Else Does
10. Slide
11. Beige

[Kristy Jackson Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.