Album Review: Boys and Eros by Laura Meyer

Album Name: Boys and Eros
Artist: Laura Meyer
Year/Label: 2005 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

First of all, I love the cover art. It’s all very cool and ethereal, and then on the back she’s sitting in her angel costume scritching her nose. Upon closer inspection of the front cover you can see that she’s actually pointing her arrow at her own heart. Nice.

Just a Thumb Blues is bluesy (well named) but it’s not my bag. I’m happy that the rest of the CD is not the same. Don’t get me wrong, it’s still done well, I just don’t care for blues.

The rest of it is just sort of sleepy, and folky but not as lush as I had hoped or what the artwork led me to expect. It actually sounds kind of lo-fi. This is good, it’s just not what I was expecting.

Laura Meyer’s voice is pretty quirky, and she uses the ‘backing vocals in unison’ thing; which in my mind always gives it a sing-along quality.

The simply titled, U is cute and sweet.

Tonight I’m Gonna Dream About You is almost country.

I am enjoying what she does with lyrics. Very clever.

Single red Pink is a standout for me. It’s got a different rhythm and her voice sounds good.

A little schizophrenic perhaps, but a fun release that will appeal to many I’m sure.

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1 Just a Thumb Blues
2 U
3 Tonight I’m Gonna Dream About You
4 Gray Again
5 I Thought I Could Love You
6 Buckets of Words
7 The Rain Is Gone
8 Nothing’s for Free
9 Meant to Fall in Love
10 We’re Headed for a Waterfall
11 Single Red Pink
12 Subway Lover
13 There Ain’t Nothin’ Good About Goodbye
14 The Road
15 Atlantis (Bonus)

[Laura Meyer Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.