Album Review: Captain Love by Mock Orange

Album Name: Captain Love
Artist: Mock Orange
Year/Label: 2008 / Wednesday Records

[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

Well, I don’t know what’s up, but the first couple of times I listened to this I did not care for it. I am actually not sure why I kept at it, but I am glad I did because today I like it.

It is an interesting brand of pop-rock music. It’s got a sort of a Sgt.Pepper’s feel to it. Especially with the 60s –ish marchy rat-a-tat drumline on title track, Captain Love.

At times they use this kind of weird affected vocals, in unison.

I think prefer this for maybe one or two songs in a mix, but the whole cd in one dose is perhaps a bit too much for me. I think the style grows old after a couple of songs, even though they’re good. Maybe this is just a personal thing.

But certainly fits the bill when looking for something different.

Track Listing
1. Captain Love
2. Song In D
3. Smile On
4. World Of Machines
5. Lila
6. Ms. Brown’s Morning Cup
7. Supergang
8. Motel Man
9. Relax And Degrade
10. Majestic Raincoat
11. Old Movies
12. Beauty Of A Scar

[Mock Orange Official Site]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.