Album Review: City Girl by Jane Fallon

Album Name: City Girl
Artist: Jane Fallon
Year/Label: 2006 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

Jane Fallon has one of those really comfortable voices. Her music is a little more on the country end of the spectrum than what I personally choose to listen to. There’s quite a bit of twang here. But there’s a good dose of folk too.

“Listen To It Snow” is an interesting song. She says she can “hear” things really well, even snow falling, but doesn’t hear yucky things such as road rage, fighting and “your criticisms and negatively‚Ķthat list of things you want me to be.” Sweet.

“He Deserves The Hat” is a cute song about how not everyone deserves to wear a cowboy hat, you have to earn it, people!

“NH Valley Girl” is one of the live tracks so there’s some stage banter, which I love. It gives a nice glimpse into what she’s like live and I like it.

This is a well done record. Very polished and if you like folksy country music, it’s one to put on your list.

Posted on January 25, 2007

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. City Girl
2. Listen To It Snow
3. Time After Time
4. Forbidden Fruit
5. The Water Is Wide
6. He Deserves The Hat
7. His Face (Psyche’s Lament)
8. The Right Road
9. If It Mattered
10. Lover’s Hell
11. Whichever Way The Wind Blows
12. Somewhere West of Boise
13. Bugs For Breakfast (Live)
14. NH Valley Girl (Live)
15. Birdie #9 (Live)

[ Jane Fallon Official Site]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.