Album Review: Close Up and Real by Jane

Album Name: Close Up
Artist: Jane
Year/Label: 2003 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

For some reason this CD takes me back in time. Perhaps subconsciously it reminds me of some song from the 80s that I can’t place. Maybe it’s that the cover photo reminds me of a Smith’s CD cover. But when I hear it I feel like I’m in high school watching the early days of MTV (yes, I’m that old). Either way, I enjoy listening to it.

Jane’s style is a mix of jazz and pop with a little country undertone. Her voice is strong and sweet. Her lyrics clever and her songs catchy.

There’s a bit of a religious vibe to some of the songs which gives me a mild case of the willies, but that is just a personal preference and I can over look that for the great songs like “Come What May” and “Til the Next Time”.

She has gathered some very talented musicians for this recording and they sound wonderful. This is a polished CD and if you like contemporary pop you ought to give Jane a listen.

Posted on June 13, 2003

Track Listing
1. Never Mind it’s Alright
2. Come What May
3. Borderline
4. Alive
5. One Voice
6. Til The Next Time
7. The Cauliflower Song (remix)
8. We Are One
9. Be My Star
10. Red, Red Raw
11. There Is No Escape
12. Breathe (it might be love)
13. These Days
14. Carry Me
15. The Cauliflower Song (original mix)
16. Keep the Faith (duet with Reg Webb)
17. You Are (my refuge and strength)

[ Jane Official Site]



Rating: 4 Stars
I’ve got this CD too and I love it. My only complaint is that it’s a bit dated in places but that’s because it’s a collection of songs recorded over several years and some were recorded in the 80’s. I do think the songwriting is great though and I’m looking forward to hearing more.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.