Album Review: Colliding Worlds by Sophie Serafino

Album Name: Colliding Worlds
Artist: Sophie Serafino
Year/Label: 2004 / Independent

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

Now here’s something you don’t hear everyday…what begins as a chamber orchestra sounding piece quickly moves into rap with a Celtic feel. Sound odd enough for you. Well, wait…there’s more.

Australia’s Sophie Serafino is a violinist, singer and songwriter who has gathered together other talented musicians to put together a very unique sound. The other players are Nick Platers (producer and dj/mc) Daniela Libertini (backing vocals) Brendan Cumspton (guitar) and Emily Palethorpe (cello).

A description on her site says, “Her music is a fusion of breaks and jungle beats layered with classically inspired strings, funky guitar and harmonised vocals.” That’s a great way to describe it. It is certainly the most original music I’ve heard in a very long time.

Stand out songs: Since I don’t care for rap that much, the ones I like the best have minimal talking on them: “Leave a Mark” and “Nightmares”

Posted on October 21, 2004

Track Listing
1. Intro (Game)
2. Scherzo
3. Putting On the Ritz
4. Colliding Worlds
5. The Rhyme
6. Leave A Mark
7. Be Alright
8. Rinse Out
9. There’s More
10. Nightmares
11. Anticipation
12. Peace and Harmony
13. Outro

[Sophie Serafino Official Site]



Rating: 5 Stars
Comment: I was really suprised by the quality and depth of this CD. I have found that it has become one of my favorites, I just play it again and again. The vocal and string harmonies are great.
name: Michelle Wentworth on Saturday, October 23, 2004

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.