Album Review: Come Into My Parlor by Janet Klein

Album Name: Come Into My Parlor
Artist: Janet Klein
Year/Label: 1998 / Coeur de Jeanette

Buy the CD

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Janet Klein’s first CD is a charming collection of melodies from the first part of the last century. She plays the ukulele and sings with an appealing sweetness. The results are never less than stunning.

It’s obvious Klein cares about the source material and that she has unearthed a treasure trove of lovely songs.

From the sweet “What a Night for Spooning” to the amusing “Naughty Lola” the songs are amazing.

The sassy “If I Can.t Sell it, I’ll Keep Sitting on it” is a fine little song that Klein is perfectly suited for. Kurt Weill’s “Wooden Wedding” gets an equally adept reading.

Klein’s first recording is a success. She has followed it with a full band effort and a new recording that is due soon. This is a good place to start if you like music that they just don.t make anymore.

Posted on September 15, 2002

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. In A Great Big Way
2. Mountain Greenery
3. What A Night For Spooning
4. Wasting My Love On You
5. Tonight You Belong To Me
6. Her Beaus Are Only Rainbows
7. If You Want The Rainbows You Must Have The Rain
8. I Like You
9. Nasty Man
10. Happy Today Sad Tomorrow
11. Give Me Liberty Or Give Me Love
12. That’s you Baby
13. If I Can’t Sell It I’ll Keep Sitting On It
14. Banana In Your Fruit Basket
15. My Wife Went Away
16. Regular Man
17. Baby It Must Be Love
18. Naughty Lola
19. Need A Little Sugar In My Bowl
20. Oh You Dog
21. You’re The Cream In My Coffee
22. Russian Lullaby
23. Wooden Wedding
24. Kashmiri Song
25. Take A Picture Of The Moon
26. Love Is A Boomerang

[Janet Klein Official Site]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.