Album Review: Coquette by Katy Carr

Album Name: Coquette
Artist: Katy Carr
Year/Label: 2009 / Madame De Luce Recordings

[Download at Amazon]
Note: it’s there as a physical buy too, but quite pricy for US peeps.

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Katy Carr has been gone a long time, and I’m glad to see her return with an album every bit as good as her first two. Here she takes inspiration from the thirties and forties and develops a masterpiece of strong songs.

Berliner Ring sees the ever-expressive Carr at her best, making a kind of tribute to Marlene Dietrich, with a superb vocal and a cabaret mood well evoked.

Violetta sees Carr singing sensuously in French to an incredibly moving melody.

Kommander’s Car tells the real life tale of four men who escaped Auschwitz. She even met the one of them who still lives to this day to get it right. The song is of course moving and has an unexpectedly catchy tune that propels its tale of flight.

The White Cliffs echoes Vera Lynn’s We’ll Meet Again as a woman wants to kill herself over a lost lover. She is rescued by strange means. The sweetness of the tune underscores its strange tale and Carr’s vocals soars.

She’s made an album she can be very proud of. It’s one of the best things I’ve heard in ages.

Track Listing
1. Star Song
2. Sparkle
3. Berliner Ring
4. Erotic Days
5. Violetta
6. Butterfly
7. Orchidophile
8. Kommander’s Car
9. Belladonna
10. Army
11. The White Cliffs
12. Sleepyhead

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.