Album Review: Count to Three by Ellen Rosner

Album Name: Count to Three
Artist: Ellen Rosner
Year/Label: 2002 / No Genre Records

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

This is Ellen Rosner’s second CD, the first being “The Perfect Malcontent” which was released in 1999. Though that recording was sort of folky and acoustic; this one is definitely more rock complete with a full band.

Ellen plays solid rockin’ bluesy music. She has a very deep resonating voice that goes very well with the music.

Aside from the rocking opening track, “Right Now”, stand out songs for me are “Month of Sundays” where her voice’s range really shows, the almost pop-y, “Promise After Promise” and “Outside the Box” where she really cuts loose and the instrumentation is great!

I really can’t compare her to anyone, musically or vocally. But if pressed I guess I would say that if you like Melissa Etheridge or other similarly rock/bluesy woman you’ll enjoy Ellen Rosner.

Posted on November 12, 2003

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. Right Now
2. 1st in a Series
3. B-Grade Movie
4. Vacancy
5. Month of Sundays
6. Promise After Promise
7. Judas Lips
8. Outside the Box
9. Empty Bottle
10. Action/Reaction
11. More of the Same
12. The Push (revised)

[Ellen Rosner Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.