Album Review: Cowboys and indians by Suran Song in Stag

Album Name: Cowboys and indians
Artist: Suran Song in Stag
Year/Label: 2001 / Cruel music

Buy the CD

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

This is an album of covers with some original songs included. Suran Song approaches songs by others as if they were her own with staggering results. The version Of Lords of the New Church’s “Open Your Eyes” takes the song straight into our times, and Duran Duran’s “Friends of Mine” now includes a refrence to Eminem.

Suran and her bands spiky punk style is not always easy on the ears, but always powerful and intriguing. The searing version of Throwing Muses Hate My way is amazingly eloquent.

The new songs fit right in with the others. This is a dynamic and bold record from a band with potential to get even better.

Posted on September 1, 2001

Track Listing
Listen to track samples

Disc: 1
1. Natural’s Not in It
2. Now Employment as a Right
3. My Mother the War
4. Familiarity Breeds Contempt
5. Friends of Mine
6. Open your Eyes
7. Overman
8. Tattooed Love Boys
9. Essence Rare

Disc: 2
1. heaven
2. , Slow Burn
3. An Insect
4. Ghosts
5. Made in Philippines
6. Hate My way
7. Ger Colder
8. Brainwash Soda/Guerrilla Pop
9. Velvet Cause

[Suran Song in Stag Official Site]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.