Album Review: Crack it Open by Ina May Wool

Album Name: Crack it Open
Artist: Ina May Wool
Year/Label: 2004 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

I was expecting Country. Perhaps it was the fringed leather coat on the cover. But I’m pleasantly surprised. “Taxi” has sort of a down home country feel to it. But the other songs are different. Some of the tracks are downright dirge-y. Especially “Frida”.

Wool has a voice that sounds very nice with this type of music. It’s clear, strong but sweet too. The songs are well written and clever.

“Dinosaur” is a really nice song. Might be my favorite here.

As a whole it’s very homey and comfortable reminiscent of Lucinda Williams.

Posted on March 30, 2004

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. Intro
2. Taxi
3. Crack It Open
4. Frida
5. Rosa
6. Big Black Bear
7. When Tears Come Down
8. Here We Go
9. Lucky
10. Pride and Poison
11. Whatever I Had to Do
12. Dinosaurs
13. Serial Lover
14. Heavy Hearted

[Ina May Wool Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.