Album Review: Dark Developments by Vic Chesnutt and Elf Power and the Amorphous Strums

Album Name: Dark Developments
Artist: Vic Chesnutt and Elf Power and the Amorphous Strums
Year/Label: 2008 / Orange Twin Records

[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Well-known songwriter Vic Chesnutt and Elf Power unite for this strange but delectable record.
It was recorded in Chesnutt’s home studio and sounds direct and intimate.

The sonic abrasion of Little Fucker bears a slight resemblance to Sonic youth in their heyday. Chesnutt adds enough melody for it to be a good tune too.

Teddy Bear sounds sweet, yet has unyielding tension to it as Chesnutt sings of loss. The tune bubbles with synths.

Stop the Horse has typically cryptic lyrics and a backing that provides a neat contrast. Chesnutt’s gifts as a songwriter are obvious here.

The Mad Passion of the Stoic is a lengthy narrative told with a writer’s eye for detail. The backing is soft and intriguing.

In this case the album is very much the sum of its intriguing parts.

Track Listing
1. Mystery
2. Little Fucker
3. And How
4. Teddy Bear
5. We Are Mean
6. Stop the Horse
7. Bilocating Dog
8. The Mad Passion of the Stoic
9. Phil the Fiddler

[Vic Chesnutt Official Site]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.