Album Review: Death Row Bride by Hazel Winter

Album Name: Death Row Bride
Artist: Hazel Winter
Year/Label: 2004 / Independent

[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

British singer Hazel Winter has an expressive voice and a guitar-heavy sound. After being in alternative band the Blue Aeroplanes she went solo and released “Put Away The Sharp Knives” on her own.

This album starts with the fiery “Going on Down” that has her wailing and playing guitar like a hellcat. Not easy listening exactly.

“Surgery” has her singing “Loving you is like giving blood”. It makes me think of early PJ Harvey, but Winter’s voice is much softer.

“Death Defying” is a spooky, whispered tale.

“Something’s wrong” has plenty of reverb and the contrast between it and Winter’s girlish singing becomes very interesting.

“You never get to heaven til you’ve been to hell” she sings on “Poor Hand Well”.

“Death Row Bride” is a stellar effort. The diva is in the house.

Posted on June 27, 2004

Track Listing
1. Going On Down
2. Surgery
3. Death Defying
4. Like a Murder
5. Pindown
6. Somethings Wrong
7. Poor hand well
8. Death Row Bride
9. Calm
10. White
11. Sleepwalking

[Hazel Winter Official Site]

1 comment for “Album Review: Death Row Bride by Hazel Winter

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.