Album Review: Dialtones by Acacia Sears

Album Name: Dialtones
Artist: Acacia Sears
Year/Label: 2007 / Sleepy Records

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

Acacia Sears is the first artist to release a record on Sleepy Records. She has a really cool strong voice. It’s mixed very close up so it feels kind of like she’s singing right in your ear. It’s very soothing.

I also like the guitar playing. It’s mostly rhythm, but I like the melodies. She does do some picking.

Her songwriting is clever and interesting. She has a good knack for writing lyrics that are touching and witty too.

Enough is a sad statement about what many folks feel: That they are not enough.

I like how she plays with the melody on Comes the Time. It gives the feeling of a little discontent.

This album has a very coffee house feel. It feels very intimate, both in the songwriting and in the production. It’s very nice and I think many of you will agree.

Oh and don’t turn it off after the “last” song…I’m just sayin’

Posted on October 13, 2007

Track Listing
1. Chrysalis
2. Enough
3. Tiny Me
4. Miss Right Now
5. Reason to Breathe
6. Comes a Time
7. Passion Play
8. If I Was Austin
9. Left of Me
10. Times Like These
11. Naked
12. He Still Doesn’t Know

[Acacia Sears Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.