Album Review: Don’t Forget to Breathe by Vicki Blankenship

Album Name: Don’t Forget to Breathe
Artist: Vicki Blankenship
Year/Label: 2003 / Spotted Kiva Productions

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

This looks like a really DIY project. The production on the jewel case could be better (it looks like it was done on a personal home computer). Upon reading her bio on her website I see that a lot of people put in a lot of hard work putting this project together, it’s too bad it doesn’t show on the packaging.

Oh well… the music in inside is nice and that the most important part. I just think that those who have thousands of CDs to go through per week might overlook it based on that. That would be shame, as this is a quality recording.

Blakenship has a warm folksy comforting voice and the guitar balances it nicely. (I can live without the backing vocals, but I’m very picky about background vocals anyway so take that with a grain of salt).

The songs are touching, well-written pieces sung with much heartfelt emotion. It’s a very comforting CD, good for Sunday mornings with coffee and the morning paper.

Posted on December 18, 2003

Track Listing
1. Don’t Forget To Breathe
2. To Forget You
3. Can You See It In My Eyes
4. Running
5. Everywhere
6. Secret Passions
7. Coming My Way
8. Doesn’t Matter Anymore
9. Reunion
10. Who Put The Sun Up With The Moon
11. Cup O’ Joe

[Vicki Blankenship Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.