Album Review: Doodlebug Alley by Jude Cowan

Album Name: Doodlebug Alley
Artist: Jude Cowan
Year/Label: 2010 / Independent

Buy the CD
[Buy at Amazon]
[Download at Amazon]

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Jude Cowan is an original; it only takes a few seconds of her new album to prove that.

The opening title track sees her attack a tune that’s as skewed as it’s unusual and compelling.

Jolly Roger is a strange song as you can expect from the title. Cowan sings of a woman escaping to a life of piracy from an unhappy life.

Liberty is sparse and sees the singer’s talent in evidence, even as she lets her vocal swoop and sway. I’m reminded of the equally obscure Rebecca Moore here.

The Lure of Paris is charming and cute as Cowan sings of the French city. Her voice sways with intent.

Obviously this won’t appeal to everyone, but I find it charming and rewarding so perhaps you will too.

Track Listing
1. Doodlebug Alley
2. Remember Sinners (François Villon)
3. Jolly Roger
4. She sits at the window
5. Lady Chatterley’s Dream
6. Nations Nations
7. Liberty
8. Naughty Daddy
9. Navajo Joe
10. The lure of Paris
11. Club Apache
12. The devil can take me
13. Alien Folk Valediction

[Jude Cowan Official Site]

Bookmark and Share


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.