Album Review: Electric Butterfly by Sally Doherty

Album Name: Electric Butterfly
Artist: Sally Doherty
Year/Label: 2009 / Independent

[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

Dang, I don’t know why it’s taken me so long to write this review, I really like this record. Maybe subconsciously I want to keep it in my rotation and I know once it’s written it’s removed. Who knows? At any rate, this is a beautiful album.

I know I’ve reviewed Sally Doherty and her bands in the past and so has Anna Maria. But these songs have caught my ear more than just a few times while this album was shuffling in my review rotation.

These songs are built on nice harmonies as well as unison singing that reminds me a little of the Cocteau twins. (Butterfly)

There’s also a techno-y sound going on here. I guess it’s bordering on ambient.

Autumn is particularly lovely. Her voice is so comforting. It’s kind of a slow dance song.

You’re Falling is a stand out to me. Probably likely my favorite track here. Though it’s hard to pick since the whole album is one big gem.

Oporto Dawn is also a wonderful sweeping landscape of a song.

It’s going in my personal rotation, when I’ll ever get to listen to that playlist is a mystery, but it’s there, waiting for me!

Track Listing
1. Something More
2. Butterfly
3. Autumn
4. You’re falling
5. Neon night
6. Time
7. Frost
8. Milk and honey
9. Oporto dawn
10. One day
11. Where have you gone to?

[Sally Doherty Official Site]

Bookmark and Share

1 comment for “Album Review: Electric Butterfly by Sally Doherty

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.