Album Review: Electro-Magnetic Blues by Paul the Girl

Album Name: Electro-Magnetic Blues
Artist: Paul the Girl
Year/Label: 2003 / Independent

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

England’s Paul the Girl’s CD is a very unique listening pleasure. At first blush it sounds like your electronic shoegazer style. But the songs are really different from each other. She certainly has that ambient quality, but she also reminds me of Jill Tracy or Hannah Fury. There’s a good amount of spooky goth, but it’s also verging on cabaret. There’s also a jazzy edge to it.

Paul’s voice is almost childlike (though her lyrics and subject matter are anything but). It swoops and swirls around the music and matches it perfectly.

“It’s Not Usual” is maybe my favorite track. It’s got a great rat-a-tat drum line and crying guitar, which sound great with Paul’s smoky vocals. “The Thinking Song” is very cabaret sounding. But every song has something special about it. You’ll just have to hear it for yourselves.

Posted on July 26, 2003

Track Listing
1. It’s Not Usual
2. V Signs
3. Don’t You Know Who I Am?
4. Electromagnetic Blues
5. Too Drunk
6. Thinking Song
7. Hermit
8. Spaceship
9. The Phony on the Jury
10. Tea in Autumn
11. Gods and Goddesses
12. Spaceship Movie (this is actually a video)

[Paul the Girl Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.