Album Review: Empire Fall by Eliza Newman

Album Name: Empire Fall
Artist: Eliza Newman
Year/Label: 2007 / Lavaland / Phantom Sound & Vision

[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Eliza Newman once fronted Icelandic art rockers Bellatrix who had some success in their poppy later incarnation. After a stint in the band Skandinavia she has recorded this solo record. She opens with the hard driving title song. Hjartagull is sweet and twinkles brightly. Newman gives a lovely vocal performances and sneaks in some Icelandic for nice effect. Change My Name is indie rock and shows Newman can handle that style still.

Eliza’s violin, which colored Bellatrix’s stunning records, adds a flavor here too. Her abilities as a solo artist should be in no doubt to those who hear this.

Posted on December 17, 2007

Track Listing
1. Empire Fall
2. Diamond
3. Deep Blue
4. Hjartagull
5. Change My Name
6. Return To Me
7. Queen Of Solitude
8. Secret Landscape
9. Island
10. Still Water
11. Stone Heart

[Eliza Newman MySpace]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.