Album Review: Everything That You Are by Mook

Album Name: Everything That You Are
Artist: Mook
Year/Label: 2002 / Pod Records

[Buy at Mook’s Store]

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

This is one of those CDs that you put into the player and you don’t take it out for days. It’s dreamy pop at it’s best. And it’s so Brit it makes me feel like I’m walking the rainy streets of London.

Mook (a.k.a. Jill Farrar) wrote, performed and produced this recording in her home. There is a lot on this CD to delve into, you’ll hear something new with each listen, whether it be an instrument or a lyric. Her voice is light and pretty and is a perfect blend with the music.

“Everytime” is the first track and probably my favorite. It’s so gorgeous and there are many musical layers to be uncovered.

“Growing Back” also is great. It has some haunting background vocals that give one chills.

“Brain” is the song that most reminds me of Belle & Sebastian. It’s light peppy, sweet and has great instrumentation.

If you like Belle & Sebastian, Mollie Baxter, The Camdens, and other Brit Pop bands you’ll dig Mook.

Posted on November 19, 2002

Track Listing
1. Every Time
2. See This Through
3. Growing Back
4. Sooner or Later
5. Thinking of You
6. Brain
7. Simple
8. Rock n Roll n Rocks
9. Untying the Not
10. Breakdown
11. Leave it All Behind
12. Magic in Your Eyes

[Mook Official Site]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.