Album Review: Extraordinary Life by Gilli Moon

Album Name: Extraordinary Life
Artist: Gilli Moon
Year/Label: 2005 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

I’ve reviewed two of Gilli Moon’s previous albums and am happy to note that this new one is good too. It’s more radio-friendly and groove-oriented than the others.

The opener “My Extraordinary Life” gets us in the mood with a slinky groove and a cool vocal.

“Between the black and the white I find clarity” she sings.

The reflective “Hollywood” reminds me of an in-tune Madonna.

“Evolution” is an inspired track with a special melody and odd instrumental touches.

The soulful and yearning “Spaceship” is mystical and sophisticated.

The scope of this record is wider than anything Moon has done before and she seems to be leading an extraordinary life.

Posted on September 20, 2005

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. my extraordinary life
2. release me
3. hollywood
4. evolution
5. undone
6. circus of life
7. spaceship
8. bye is such a lonely word
9. the kiss
10. enchanted forest
11. little boy lost
12. we can work it out
13. deconstruction (spoken word)
14. the wind
15. bye (italian version)

[Gilli Moon Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.