Album Review: Florilegium by Lupercalia

Album Name: Florilegium
Artist: Lupercalia
Year/Label: 2004 / Equilibrium Music

[Buy at Equilibrium Music]

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Lupercalia are Claudia Floro and Riccardo Prencipe of Italy. The soprano voice of Florio in combination with multi-instrumentalist Prencipe’s work makes for a unique sound. The music is a mix of medieval influences and more contemporary sounds.

“Ouroboros” is genuinely eerie, demonstrating Florio’s vocal skills. Prencipe’s guitar playing is very talented also.

“Aegtupto ad Sicilam” has an exotic undertow.

“Sub specie aeternitas” is a grand, dramatic song. The words are in Latin which adds a nice touch. Florio takes her singing to new levels, recalling Lisa Gerrard.

“Kundalini” has a dramatic spoken word by Lisa Salvatore that fits with the atmospheric music.

The Irish folk ballad “The Wind That Shakes The Barley” is rendered in a marvelous way.

This is a wonderful record.

Posted June 6, 2004

Track Listing
1. Tribe
2. Ouroboros
3. Aegypto ad siciliam
4. Personent hodie
5. Sub specie aeternitais
6. Praga
7. Rebis
8. Kundalini
9. Curtis
10. Axe
11. Formis Melara Sanctus Filix
12. The wind that shakes the barley
13. Pilgrim’s chant

[Lupercalia Official Site]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.