Album Review: Freaky Little Story by The Megan Slankard Band

Album Name: Freaky Little Story
Artist: The Megan Slankard Band
Year/Label: 2005 / Independent

[Buy at Amazon]
Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

I’ll say right off the bat, that this is one CD I know I’ll listen to long after the review is posted.

“Too Bad You” is a good opening song. It has hit written all over it and prepares you for the rest of the CD.

Slankard is similar to Ani DiFranco musically, though not vocally, especially on “The Freak Out Song”

Her voice sounds similar to Shawn Colvin at times but is really pretty unique.

“Addy’s Tattoo” is pretty. Very folky and shows her voice well.

“Nearly Almost Always Nearly Almost Anything” is pretty and shows her quiet side.

Really all the songs are winners, but “Dirty Wings” is probably my favorite.

This is a really solid recording and anyone that likes rock with a pop edge ought to give it a listen.

Posted on May 27, 2005

Update: Sept 6, 2005 just so you know, I am still listening to this CD with much regularity and I love it even more.

Track Listing
1. Too Bad You
2. Mocking Bird
3. Dirty Wings
4. Captain Madness
5. Addy’s Tattoo
6. Lose Me
7. Give Life
8. Forget
9. Nearly Almost Always Nearly Almost Anything
10. Holding Off
11. It’s All My Fault (But I’m Not Sorry)
12. Flying Backwards
13. The Freak Out Song (+hidden track)

[The Megan Slankard Band Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.