Album Review: Fun House by Riddle the Sphinx

Album Name: Fun House
Artist: Riddle the Sphinx
Year/Label: 2006 / Celestial Records

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

Riddle the Sphinx is fronted by singer/songwriter Christiane Cargill. The music they play is lovely and the lyrics by Joy de Guzman are intriguing.

“Into Forever” is a sweet ballad that brings out the most sensuous qualities in Cargill’s siren vocal. I’m reminded of Sarah McLahlan in her prime.

“Lullaby” is a string-enhanced song that works as an actual lullaby. It’s got some nice eastern touches and a shade of Tori Amos dynamics.

The title song is a fun, cabaret-ish spin with surreal lyrics. Cargill sings wonderfully.

“Judgment Day” is a mid-paced song with intriguing lyrics of a wrongdoer.

This album is a lovely thing.

Posted on March 6, 2006

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. Shepherd’s Hill
2. Vagabond
3. Into Forever
4. Lullaby
5. The Fallen Ones
6. Fun House
7. Almost
8. Judgment Day
9. Sandman
10. Hunger
11. Romanza
12. Nickel a Drink
13. Lullaby Unplugged

[Riddle the Sphinx Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.