Album Review: Gabriel Kahane by Gabriel Kahane


Album Name: Gabriel Kahane
Artist: Gabriel Kahane
Year/Label: 2009 / Wasted Storefront Records

[Buy at Amazon]
[Buy at]

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Gabriel Kahane has previously based an ep on adverts on craigslist, and his proper solo debut is no less quirky and inspired. You can download the craigslist ep from the singer’s site for free.

He’s an ambitious young man, and has roped in twenty or so musicians to realize his record. It’s a chamber pop record of sorts, with Kahane delivering songs of a fresh caliber.

Opener Durrants is reminiscent of Rufus Wainwright, halfway between classical and pop.

Rochester is reflective and somber, Kahane’s vocals set against an elegiac melody.

Underberg is just lovely, Kahane singing a literate lyric against a sophisticated backing.

He’s capable of some frivolous songs, but generally the mood is quite serious.

Villanelles is one of the best songs here, Kahane playing an up tempo song with grace and a bit of a country hue.

He’s definitely a great talent, and should have a bright furture.

Track Listing
1. Durrants
2. Interlude
3. North Adams
4. Rochester
5. Slow down
6. Fughetta
7. Side streets
8. Underberg
9. 7 Middagh
10. Wie soll ich dich empfangen
11. The Faithful
12. Arnold correct the papers while my grandmother washes his children
13. Twice in the night
14. Villanelles
15. Keene

[Gabriel Kahane Official Site]

Bookmark and Share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.