Album Review: Grave Blessings by Unto Ashes

Album Name: Grave Blessings
Artist: Unto Ashes
Year/Label: 2005 / Projekt Records

Buy the CD

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Unto Ashes have been around for a while now, making their unique brand of darkwave music. Its medieval sense makes it feel like you’ve entered a different era when you listen to it. Their material is mostly their own, but covers and traditional songs also get a look in.

Vocalists Natalia Lincoln, Mariko and Michael Laird are obviously gifted.

“Winter Born” sees them singing beautifully to a stately arrangement.

“Tortured by Rose Thorns” continues the bands bleak spell, a folksy song that sees Mariko’s vocals stark and passionate.

“Emptiness” is sweet and dreamy, its phenomenal harmonies keeping me enthralled. Overall the vocal work on this record is exceptional.

A cover of the Cure’s “Drowning Man” is suitably somber, all cobwebs and darkness creeping. Mariko sounds nothing like Robert Smith, which is good.

The traditional “Four Loom Weaver” is an equally audacious song to cover.

A strange but reassuringly lovely album in all.

Posted on September 23, 2005

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. Tous Esforcie
2. Winterborn
3. Tortured by Rose Thorns
4. In Memory of D’Drennan
5. Emptiness
6. The Turning
7. Three Haiku
8. The Drowning Man
9. If I Come to You
10. Lesson
11. Four More Years
12. Four Loom Weaver
13. Way of the World
14. Fruehling
15. Banishment Spell

[Unto Ashes Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.