Album Review: Hold the Sun by Cassandra Kubinski

Album Name: Hold the Sun
Artist: Cassandra Kubinski
Year/Label: 2007 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

I reviewed Cassandra Kubinski’s previous release, and while I enjoyed it and could see her great talent, she reminded me too much of Vanessa Carlton. I was hoping we’d see something more original from her and it looks like we got it! Yay!

My first thought this time is, ‘Wow, powerful voice!’ But the songs are also really strong. The melodies are very interesting while at the same time being catchy (but not predictable).

Her piano talent is impressive. There’s so much emotion in her playing. I’m envious.

She does rock, pop and even throws a little jazzy feel to some of these songs. She has definitely matured into her own artist and I am really enjoying this release. This is going in my personal rotation.

Stand out songs: Cradle the Moon, Racecar, Like Only Lovers Can (is a guitar song, and it’s really pretty), Twisted (fabulous piano part).

Track Listing
1. Ride Alone
2. Echoes
3. Cradle the Moon
4. Racecar
5. Hardly Is A Love Song
6. Like Only Lovers Can
7. You Make Me
8. She’s Gonna Make You Want Her
9. Somebody Told Me
10. Twisted
11. All You Have to Do
12. Lime Green Taxi
13. Halfway to Heaven

[Cassandra Kubinski Official Site]

Bookmark and Share


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.