Album Review: I’ll Have What She’s Having by The Tuna Helpers

Album Name: I’ll Have What She’s Having
Artist: The Tuna Helpers
Year/Label: 2005 / Independent

[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

I’m impressed with this record, so impressed I’m at loss for words. This group of three women seems to merge Kate Bush, early Throwing Muses and Rasputina in their delightful off-kilter way.

“All the Children” sprints merrily along, lead singer Adrienne resembling the Wicked Witch of the East.

“Circus Song” is as eerie as songs of such things tend to be. Here we have huge dollops of Rasputina’s enchanted sound crossbreeding with the beasties from Kate Bush’s “Never Forever” album cover.

“Wait and See” is terrifying; a massive swell of strings making Adrienne’s unearthly wails stand out. This could be on the soundtrack to almost any Tim Burton movie.

“Sticks and Stones” is less haunted, having the air of a faerie tale with a happy ending.

The Tuna Helpers are a fabulous, surreal band and they have made one of my favorite albums to date.

Posted on August 12, 2005

Track Listing
1. Ready to Begin
2. Hold This
3. All The Children
4. Circus
5. Blueberry Head
6. Oh No
7. Wait and See
8. Turtle
9. The Stars
10. Gather The Children
11. Sticks and Stones
12. Frying Pan
13. Sea Monster
14. Halfway
15. Askew
16. Haloing Moons

[The Tuna Helpers Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.