Album Review: Imagina by Karrin Allyson

Album Name: Imagina
Artist: Karrin Allyson
Year/Label: 2008 / Concord Records

[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

Karrin Allyson’s ‘Imagina’ has sort of a of ‘tiki cocktail party in the 60s’- Sergio Mendez thing. It’s really pretty cool.

Since I don’t speak Portuguese I don’t know what they’re singing about except for the song titles which they kindly put in English on the disc. But even if it were just vocalizations, it sounds really cool.

There’s something about this music that just says foofy drinks with umbrellas and bacon wrapped appetizers to me. Trust, this is a compliment. That’s what most of my cocktail parties look and taste like.

Karrin’s voice is perfect for this genre. It’s strong and clear, but she also knows how to purr and swoop when the song calls for it.

‘Estrada Branca (This Happy Madness)’ is one of the few where she’s singing in English, and it’s lovely.

They really rock the xylophone on ‘O Morro Não Tem Vez (Favela)’, it’s a very dance-enticing song. That is, it’s hard to sit still during it.

The musicianship is first rate, the production is as well. This is one classy, jazzy, drinky album that is going in my personal rotation. Can I get you a Mai Tai?

Interesting side note: My father’s friend, Pat, is married to one of the women who sang with Sergio Mendez and Brasil 66…and her name is Karen (I know, spelled differently, but still…) Only interesting to me? Well, OK then.

Track Listing
1. A Felicidade (Happiness)
2. Correnteza 2:27
3. Só Tinha Que Ser Com Você
4. Medo De Amar (Surrender The Soul)
5. O Morro Não Tem Vez (Favela)
6. Estrada Branca (This Happy Madness)
7. Outono (Stay)
8. Double Rainbow
9. Imagina
10. Desafinado (Slightly Out Of Tune)
11. Pra Dizer Adeus (Time To Say Goodbye)
12. Vivo Sonhando (Living On Dreams)
13. Estrada Do Sol
14. É Com Esse Que Eu Vou

[Karrin Allyson Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.