Album Review: Inland Sea by Rin

Album Name: Inland Sea
Artist: Rin
Year/Label: 2006 / Domo Records

[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Three women make up Rin; Mana, Tomoca and Chie, no surnames given.

Their mix of Japanese and western sounds and ideas is intriguing indeed.

Vocal guests Leigh Nash (formerly of Sixpence None the Richer) and Lisa Loeb also weigh in.

“New Day Rising” with Nash is exciting, the Rin women’s use of traditional instruments meeting Nash’s wide-eyed vocal.

The lovely “Solemn” is as tranquil as the blue night sky. The vocals keen and drift.

The sweet “Never Knew What Love Meant” with Nash is surprisingly radio friendly, but good with it.

The more daring sounds of “Moss Garden” pick up the pace and gets under my skin.

Lisa Loeb’s turn on “Anti Hero” is neat and very relaxed. But Rin sound best without their guests. Their appearances are cool, but maybe less of them would make the next record even better. As it is it’s still very interesting and unusual sounding.

Posted on Ocotber 30, 2006

Track Listing
1. New Day Rising
2. Solemn
3. What the Rain said
4. Never knew what love meant
5. Moss Garden
6. Anti Hero
7. Inland Sea
8. Sea of Tranquility
9. Superflat (part II)
10. Past Imperfect
11. AA170

[Rin Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.