Album Review: Into the Light Again by Her Name in Lights

Album Name: Into the Light Again
Artist: Her Name in Lights
Year/Label: 2005 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Australian band Her name in lights are fronted by the dulcet-voiced Mary Wyer. Their debut is very accomplished and it’s obvious that the band members have had plenty of experience in other bands including the long defunct Hummingbirds.

“Dream” is an apt title for a sweet little song with an angelic lead vocal. “You Know I Really Loved that boy” is a melancholy song in the vein of the Church’s material.

“Waiting” is a charming song that instantly engages.

“Sex Bomb” is an unusual cover of the Mousse T/Tom Jones song. Mary Wyer seems to sing it with a smile.

“First Kiss last Kiss” is another sweet song that reminds me of Frente.

This is a very nice debut from a wonderful band.

Posted on February 19, 2005

Track Listing
1. Prelude
2. Here She Comes
3. Dream
4. You Know I Really Loved That Boy
5. Headstrong
6. Waiting
7. Key (part 1)
8. Wicked Girl
9. Key (part 2)
10. Car
11. Mess
12. Sex Bomb
13. First Kiss Best Kiss
14. Against The Blue
15. Deep Water
16. She Said

[Her Name in Lights Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.