Album Review: Introspective Raincoat Student Music by Sugarplum Fairies

Album Name: Introspective Raincoat Student Music
Artist: Sugarplum Fairies
Year/Label: 2003 / Starfish Records

Buy the CD

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Sugarplum Fairies is Silvia Ryder and Ben Bohm. Their new album is an enchanting record. Ryder’s deceptively fragile vocals lend the music a haunting quality.

“Sugarfree” is a ballad that rests on Ryder’s gorgeous voice.

“Tomorrow’s Always a Day too late” is a melancholy tale. Its country touches makes me think of Cowboy Junkies.

“Sticky Summer” has a few cabaret-like moments that are very cool.

“Tuesday Headache” maintains the bands laid-back sound. Ryder’s sweet voice and Bohm’s guitar make magic together.

“Some Girl” is a Velvet Underground-like song that shows Ryder’s debt to Nico.

Sugarplum Fairies are a gifted band and this album is a nice listen.
Stand out songs for me are “Sugarfree” and “The State We’re In”.

January 04, 2004

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

Anna Maria Stjärnell sent me her review of this CD one day before it arrived in my mailbox but I feel I must still give my impression.

I love it. I played it for my husband who’s response was an enthusiastic, “This is f**king great!” We were both trying to figure out who it reminded us of and though we still have not put our collective finger on it, I know Mazzy Star is in there somewhere. There is also some Belle & Sebastian.

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. Lunchbox
2. Touchdown or Fly
3. Sugarfree
4. Tomorrow’s Always One Day Late
5. Sticky Summer
6. The State We’re In
7. Sun
8. Tuesday Headache
9. Some Girl
10. #2 Kraft Paperbag
11. Void
12. Sleepover
13. 4 Am and Nothing New
14. Geek
15. Common Sense
16. The Crossroads of My Mind

[Sugarplum Fairies Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.