Album Review: Julie Roberts by Julie Roberts

Album Name: Julie Roberts
Artist: Julie Roberts
Year/Label: 2004 / Mercury Nashville

[Buy at Amazon]

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

My first thought was eew, blues, then it was eew country…

She even looks like a cross between Faith Hill and Shania Twain (and there’s nothing wrong with that, believe me) So let’s get this straight, I don’t really care for country. Aside from Pasty Cline, I can live real happily without it. But as much as it surprises me to say this, this is a really good CD.

I would venture to say that even those who don’t care for country could at least recognize and admire the fact that this girl ain’t just gorgeous, she can sing! I just love her voice. I can’t even compare it to anyone because I don’t listen to country, and she doesn’t sound like anyone in the pop world, not that I can tell. So sorry I can’t be of more help that way. You’ll have to listen for yourself. Her website has song samples.

Stand Out songs: “Unlove Me”, “Wake Up Older” and “I Can’t Get Over You” (which sounds less country than the others).

May 10, 2004

Track Listing
1. You Ain’t Down Home
2. Break Down Here
3. Pot Of Gold
4. Unlove Me
5. Just ‘Cause We Can
6. Wake Up Older
7. If You Had Called Yesterday
8. No Way Out
9. I Can’t Get Over You
10. Rain On A Tin Roof
11. The Chance

[Julie Roberts Official Site]

[wp_campaign_1]

Comments:

Rating: 5 Stars
Comment: So she’s more beautiful since she’s “lost weight”? Nice. Real nice. She certainly didn’t look overweight to me before. These kinds of comments are what’s wrong with the music industry…hell the world. Julie you’re gorgeous either way.
name: AAL on Saturday, June 3, 2006

Rating: 5 Stars
Comment: Good singer. Her beauty has evolved as he has lost weight. A country girl turned star. Good on ya, Julie.
name: Jay on Thursday, June 1, 2006

Rating: 5 Stars
Comment: I think Julie Roberts is a best singinger then any other girls in country.
name: william Miller on Monday, February 20, 2006

Rating: 5 Stars
Comment: there are not enough stars to even rate this album. i am not a big country fan,,,sure i like shania, faith and the dixie chicks….but yet you cant even compare them to this fabulous new star we shall call julie roberts. she breathtaking, she’s talented, and she sings with passion. for the people who are not big country people like myself she does have a couple of COUNTRY songs on the album….but you know what….once you hear and of course fall in love with the rest of the songs (especially wake up older and rain on a tinroof) and her it’s not going to matter,,,i love the more country songs on her album as much as anything else, becuase it’s her. i listen to this album CONSTANTLY!!! and never grow tired of it. this album is definately the best album i have purchased in a long time. what’s also nice about it is that she’s unique. she has a nice unique voice that when you hear her you KNOW who you are listening to … you dont have to second guess like alot of these new artists. you wont be sorry, it truly is an amazing cd.
name: erin on Friday, October 29, 2004

Rating: 5 Stars
Comment: julie roberts doesn’t get the credit she deserves she is the best woman country music singer that there is right now I love every one of her songs they need to play them all on CMT I went out and bought her cd the day it came out I was so impressed with ever5y song I knew every song on it that day it is really good I would love to meet her she is so much different than the newer singers I LOVE Her music all of it.
name: Susan Ballou on Sunday, October 24, 2004

Rating: 5 Stars
Comment: Love the songs “Break Down Here” “The Chance” “Wake Up a Day Older” and “Unlove Me” Julie Roberts did a wonderful job on her first album.
on Tuesday, September 28, 2004

Rating: 5 Stars
Comment: This CD is fabulous. She is so gorgeous and free spirited. She is going to be the next big superstar of country music
name: Matt on Wednesday, September 1, 2004

Rating: 5 Stars
Comment: I love this cd. I just can not get enough of it. She is so talented!! I esp. like Unlove Me.
name: Heather on Wednesday, July 21, 2004

Rating: 5 Stars
Comment: This young lady has an amazing voice. She has so much passion and sells the song. My favorites are Wake up older, Unlove me, and the Chance. I can’t wait to purchase the CD. I think that it has something for everyone. Sign me up for the fan club.
name: Jen Williams Sunday, May 16, 2004 at 10:48:45

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *