Album Review: Kiss the Ground by Kamile Kapel

Album Name: Kiss the Ground
Artist: Kamile Kapel
Year/Label: 2003 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Kamile Kapel comes from Canada and makes beautiful and strange music. Some of the songs on her album are based on poems by Persian poet Rumi, some have Kapel’s own words.

“Queen of You Heart” is a cabaret-tinged, wistful gem. Kapel’s gorgeous vocals are framed by some music that sounds like it was played by refugees from the great Taraf de Haiduks from Romania.

“Water from Your spring” is a Rumi poem. Kapel’s music suits it fine. Her voice sounds like Sarah McLachlan’s here.

“Hoax tattoo” is jazzy and sparse, its words are both sensuous and biting.

“Knitting Buddha” tells of a journey to India and paints the country in vivid hues. Influences from Indian music are used tastefully throughout.

“Love Comes with a Knife” is an exotic-sounding song. Kapel sings it with a compelling purity.

“Kiss The Ground” is a truly inspired and heartfelt record.

Posted on November 20, 2003

Track Listing
1. Queen of your Heart
2. Water from your Spring
3. Hoax Tattoo
4. Kiss the Ground
5. Knitting Buddha
6. Holy Water
7. This Path (Intro)
8. This Path
9. Love Comes with a Knife
10. The Glassblower’s Breath
11. Like this
12. The Golden Fan
13. Quietnesssit

[Kamile Kapel Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.