Album Review: Knowledge Scars by Unwoman

Album Name: Knowledge Scars
Artist: Unwoman
Year/Label: 2002 / Unmediated Productions

Buy the CD

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

It’s a rich and strange offering, this debut album by Erica Mulkey; known as Unwoman. It’s also very hard to classify.

She sings of weighty topics like sex and religion and crafts minimalist soundscapes to match.

“In Gilead” is inspired by Margaret Atwood’s novel “The Handmaid’s Tale” and like that book it’s deeply disturbing.

“Deeper Understanding” updates a Kate Bush song in a very impressive way.

Elsewhere Mulkey tackles Crass and the Cure in imaginative fashion.

“Knowledge Scars” features Mulkey playing the cello in a piece that s both dreamy and funky.

Unwoman’s debut is a powerful statement that affects both the mind and the heart.

Posted on May 3, 2002

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. In Gilead
2. The Futurist’s Nightmare
3. Deeper Understanding [by Kate Bush]
4. Who Programmed my Desire?
5. Knowledge Scars
6. Freedom From Religion!
7. Sentiment [by Joy de Vivre / Crass]
8. Dispossessed
9. Lament for Peter Pan
10. Subsistence
11. You
12. When I Touch Myself
13. The Drowning Man [by the Cure]
14. Vacant Skies Revisited

[Unwoman Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.