Album Review: Life in Color by D’Lovely

Album Name: Life in Color
Artist: D’Lovely
Year/Label: 2005 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

D’Lovely is a duo consisting of Sirsa Shekim and Noah Clark. Their trip-hop is highly polished and appealing.

“I Missed That train” is catchy and has an up-tempo vibe reminiscent of Morcheeba.

A fun cover of Eurytmics “Here comes the Rain” follows and shows Shekim’s vocals at their strongest.

“Come Around” is a beat-heavy, sensual song with an invigorating lead vocal.

The ballad “Drive You Home” has a gorgeous arrangement and a palpable sense of sadness.

“Life in Color” is a very nice debut all told.

Posted on March 31, 2005

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. Hey Sugar
2. I Missed That Train
3. Here Comes the Rain
4. Paris
5. Save This Day
6. In Sunlight (Cause of You)
7. Alive & Kickin (featuring Permashine)
8. Come Around
9. Valentine
10. Drive You Home
11. One Against the Sun
12. Eeyah
13. Last Time I Saw You
14. I Can’t Breathe

[D’Lovely Official Site]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.