Album Review: Little Airplane by Blake Hazard

Album Name: Little Airplane
Artist: Blake Hazard
Year/Label: 2003 / Kimchee Records

Buy the CD

Review by Anna Maria Stjärnell

Blake Hazard’s debut is wonderful. Her enchanting voice and strong songs make for a great listen.

“Waiting” is as great a pop song as you could wish for. It’s bouncy but melancholy and leaves plenty of space for Hazard’s engaging singing.

The restrained “Reservoir” uses a lovely acoustic guitar as a setting for the song.

Blake Hazard’s voice echoes Juliana Hatfield here. The album’s production is great, thanks to Hazard’s husband John Dragonetti.

“In the Sun” is a folksy, ethereal-sounding song. Hazard’s multi-tracked voice is used to beguiling effect.

“Glittering” uses an electronica-influenced production to create an unsettling and beautiful song.

“Little Aeroplane” is a record that deserves investigation.

Posted on February 16, 2003

Track Listing
1. Everybody Knows
2. Waiting
3. Little Airplane
4. Reservoir
5. Strange Love
6. Bedtime
7. In the Sun
8. Converting to the Diver Species
9. Glittering
10. Trust
11. Saint Sebastian
12. Paper Stars
13. Love Won

[Blake Hazard Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.