Album Review: Little Films by Vanessa Peters and Ice Cream on Mondays

Album Name: Little Films
Artist: Vanessa Peters and Ice Cream on Mondays
Year/Label: 2006 / Independent

Buy the CD

Review by Amy Lotsberg Producer of Collected Sounds

I’ve reviewed a few of Vanessa Peters’s CDs in the past. I’ve enjoyed them all. See the left nav bar for links. This is her newest so let’s just get down to it shall we?

I love the melody and guitar part on “Little Films” it’s just so fun, poppy and cheery. In fact this album is really melody driven. The songs are very well written both musically and lyrically.

Vanessa’s voice sounds great on “Love Story”. That song is reprised at the end of the CD but in piano form. It’s lovely.

“Anti-Hero” is another really good pop song. She has some distortion on her voice, which is a cool effect. Lyrics here are clever too.

I like how the theme of the album is motion pictures, movies, films. It’s not so overpowering as to be considered a concept album, but the songs all tie into each other nicely.

Actually as I run down these songs in order, they’re all really well written fun pop songs. Pop enough to be fun and instantly likeable, but not so pop so as to be too mainstreamy.

If this sounds like your idea of good music (it does mine) give this one a listen. I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

Posted on November 18, 2006

Track Listing
Listen to track samples
1. Little Films
2. Love Story
3. Anti-Hero
4. Such Good Actors
5. Signposts
6. Moving Day
7. Amelia
8. No Sense
9. Never Been Good
10. Bonnie & Clyde
11. Big Time Underground
12. Fireworks
13. Parting Scene
14. Love Story (reprise)

[Vanessa Peters and Ice Cream on Mondays Official Site]


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.